Flat tracking the Penton

Started by rob w, October 10, 2019, 09:09:28 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

rob w

Here's a couple pictures from the flat track race I did last weekend on my Penton 400.
Half-Mile in Hastings, MI. Oct 5, 2019.

https://photos.app.goo.gl/nZp5ryFB6ydj6JpX8

https://photos.app.goo.gl/94S66xbTC6GD4UqK6

Larry Perkins

rob w

Larry,
My 3rd race flat tracking, and 2nd Half-Mile. Also have never had a chance to practice anywhere.  I'm a real rookie at this, but the more seat time I get, the more confident I feel.
The class I ride is called "Light weight Vintage 0-400"
On this half-mile I ran a 14-49 gear on my 400 (360), I was running wide open on the straights in 6th gear, but couldn't carry the momentum to pull 6th through the corners.
I battled with the winner of my class (he was on a modified XR350) for most of all 8 laps. I would pass him coming out of the corners and down the straight, and he would pass me going into, and through the middle of each corner. Lead changed hands four times a lap sometimes. My competition was better on the last lap, so I finished 2nd.
I was happy I got to experience some close high speed racing with another rider.
Bob

Larry Perkins

Very Cool!  Always wanted to give it a try but never have.  Way to go Bob!

Larry P

rob w

Thanks a lot. I certainly want to keep at it. I've got a lot to figure out until I'm half-fast. You don't have 1 second to slack off. It's a wfo sprint race start to finish. And if you have to start on the second row, there's already 6 guys ahead of you, before you even start. Getting sideways at 70mph is not something I have much experience at. It's going to take a lot more seat time, to break through the wall in my mind. Once it becomes second nature, and I feel like a flat tracker, I'll let you know. Would love to have more friends join me turning left.

Steve Minor