1973/1974 Hercules 125 with Sachs 6 speed Question

Started by Rob Thatcher, January 22, 2024, 01:53:05 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Rob Thatcher

I'm helping a local vintage rider.  I helped him split the cases and it is a 6A engine but has a 6D cylinder.  I was not expecting to see a 6D cylinder on a 6A bottom.  The front of the frame looks similar to a Penton, but the exhaust is more like a steel tanker.  His exhaust is pretty rough, and I would expect Hercules specific parts are harder to find.

Was this a common situation with a 6A/6D? 

Thanks

Stuttgartautoman

Motoraider.com has a connection in Italy that reproduces several complete exhaust systems and parts for vintage bikes. I'm not certain on your engine questions.

slvrbrdfxr

Rob,
I'm not an expert on the Hercules bikes but have looked at quite a few pictures of these early 70's Herc/DKW bikes over the last couple years. I bought a 75 model Herc GS175 at Mid Ohio in 2021 and its been difficult to find parts to make the bike whole again. I ended up making a trip to Kitchener, Ontario this past October to buy a second 75 model GS175 parts bike that had the needed items I was searching for. My 175 has a 6A bottom end too but the alloy cylinder is factory fitted with a 60mm iron sleeve which is probably somewhat rare like the Sachs 125D cylinders. In the pics I've viewed of 73-75 Herc/DKW 125 bikes I've found online, none of them looked like they had a factory installed Sachs D cylinder. Like I said, I'm not an expert on these bikes, so anything is possible. I would think a D cylinder would fit the 6A bottom end without any modifications. My guess however would be that the D cylinder was probably not installed on your friend's bike from the factory. Once again, not an expert but my opinion on the subject. Would it be possible for you to post a few pics of your friends Herc so we can see what it looks like. Also please post a pic of the exhaust your looking for. I believe the exhaust is different from 73