Won't start

Started by Mike Horton, November 15, 2004, 10:13:02 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Mike Horton

Picked up my bike ( 1973 Jackpiner with Bing)today at Forward Air in SF. The bike looks great and is in excellant mechanical shape. The only problem is that I can't get it to start. If you let it set for awhile it will hit and run for about a second. After that nothing. I checked the plug and it was dry. If you continue to kick start, gas appears below the carb on the crankcase top. Let it set again and it will run again the same as before. I have tried the choke in all positions, doesn't seem to matter. Not giving it any throttle at start . Since all the gas was drained for shipment, could the float be stuck or the needle jet ?? Any ideas and how to go about it. I am a novice - its been 30 years.

Thanks Mike

hrbay

Mike, it sounds like the gas flow is intermittant, as you suspect,  consider pulling the bowl and cleaning the needle jet and bore. Good luck on the nice find.

GC
GC

tmc3c

Hi Mike,Try taking your gas cap off when it is sitting there running. Keep us up to date on the results.

Thomas Carmichael
Thomas Carmichael

1970 125 Six Day
1976 250 Hare Scrambler

cubfan1968

Get in to the "Search the message board" section. Type in "Won't stay running" You'll get my post. I got a lot of great information, used it like a laundry list. Now the bike runs pretty good. Alot of knowledge in this group.

Rod Whitman
Rod Whitman
Omaha, Nebraska
1972 Six Day (Rider)
1972 Six Day (Project)

Doug Wilford

Mike;
It sounds like the choke is on.   The choke is in the slide and has to be held up to be off.  The lever on the handlebar should be at a 90 degree or back  or down so you are holding the choke open.   Good luck.  and have fun.

Mark Annan