Michelin Knobbys

Started by 83husky250, March 27, 2008, 08:54:54 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

83husky250

I have an opportunity to purchase a pair of Michelin M-12 knobbies at a good price. I've never used Michelins before but I remember a few years back KTM used them as OEM tires.  I'll just be using them for trail riding and would like to replace my existing tires with something long lasting and with good all around performance.  Would these tires be a good choice?  Thanks.  By the way, even if I don't have a Penton, I'll be in Amherst in September!

brian kirby

Tires are like religion, everybody thinks their choice is the best. I know lots of guys that rave about S12s but I hate them. They are too soft and they "wiggle" around on anything but soft terrain. The M12s are worse, they are too far the other way and dont work well in anything but hard terrain. Again, that is my personal opinion, I know lots of people that swear by S12s, but I have never heard anyone say they like the M12s.

My opinion is if you are looking for an all around tire and not a terrain specific tire, there is no other choice but the Pirelli MT16s. They work as well as S12s in soft and FAR outperform them in anything harder than that. They also wear like iron.

Brian
Brian

Dwight Rudder

BUT, You must have a 175 or bigger Penton to use them on.  The New Thailand made Michelins are not holding up and people are looking for alternatives.  I love the MT16s for my bigger Vintage bikes. I use them on my modern bikes.  I suggest the front for all our vintage bikes.  On 100 - 125cc machines I use the Cheng Shin C183A rear or the C755 . The first is a Barum copy and the second is a Metezler copy.  
IMO,
DR

Jim A