'75 Mint 400

Started by dirtymartini, September 09, 2004, 09:46:36 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

dirtymartini

Hello to All!
I just wrestled my brothers Mint 400 away from him after bugging him about it for the last 20 years! I was probably the last one to ride it and that was in 1978; it has been sitting ever since.
The bike was purchased from Drew Smith in late '75 or early '76; it still has ISDT qualifier paint marks on the engine cases!
I joined POG about a month ago and now I'm ready to get the old girl working. I need lots of advice!
Should I paint or powdercoat the frame?
As far as the engine goes I'm a fairly decent mechanic, but I want this to be done right! Does anyone in POG do this kind of work? It feels like the piston is stuck, but I didn't want to use to much force. All help and advice would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance,
Paul

firstturn

Paul,
  Welcome to the Penton Owners Web Site.  You have tremendous find with the history of being a bike that Drew Smith rode in the qualifiers.  My questions are as follows:
1.  Are you going to race it or just ride it and show it?
2.  The marks on the bike from the qualifiers designate History and to some people would be worth keeping on the bike for the proof of past ownership.
3.  Powder coating a frame takes away from originality, but it is great for racing and preserving the bike.

I hope you can tell that I am impressed with the bike from the past ownership, but I will try to help you in anyway to do with bike as you please.
  For the rebuilding of the engine I would HIGHLY recomend Kip Kern.  He is a member of the Penton Group and does GREAT work.
  Great find!

Ron Carbaugh
Ron Carbaugh

ktm96duke

if it were me-i'd have to think really hard about doing anything to that bike short of freshening it up-it's too valuable a piece of history to completely restore i think.

JP
1980-1981 all sizes

JP
1980-1981 all sizes

tmc3c