Intro of a Penton Newbie

Started by Mike Stephenson, September 26, 2006, 09:01:44 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Mike Stephenson

Thanks to one of the greatest persons you could ever meet - Ted DelSolar, I have now officially joined the ranks as a Penton Newbie!   (Ted - if you read this - thanks again my friend!)

I am a total newbie to Pentons other than I have been wanting one for several years now.  Most of my vintage/evo bike experience, if you can call it that, has been with Suzuki motocrossers - mostly RM's 76 to 79, plus a smattering of other old scoots that have graced my garage over the last few years.  I do quite a bit of off road riding on my 05 KTM, but want to start doing some vintage rides on occasion.

The Penton that now graces my garage, is as best I can tell, a 76 (77 appears on the title though) Cross Country 250 (the predecessor to Ted's Davie actually).  My plans at this point is for this to be a "rider" bike, not a garage queen.  So, mechanical stuff will be the first stuff for me to address.  The engine on this bike is rather sound - a 1st kick starter actually, which makes sense in light of the recent rebuild.  About the only stuff I think I need to work on to feel comfortable with it as a "rider" really is control set up odds and ends, brakes, clutch actuation (does not fully disengage, though Ted tells me this is typical), and rear shocks.  With those things addressed, I will be ready to do some riding with Ted and Davie!

I look forward to the POG members collective wisdom!  I am sure I will have many pesky questions (all of which I am sure Ted will hear from me along the way as well!).  Oh, I will be getting that POG membership registration out in the mail!

Thanks

Mike Stephenson
Atlanta, Michigan

Penton Newbie - thanks to Young Ted!
Mike Stephenson
Atlanta, Michigan

Paul Danik

Mike,