So difficult to buy a Penton!

Started by Robbie, February 28, 2008, 07:05:39 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Robbie

Robbie

I guess I just need a wrecked one?

or do I need to save longer?

thrownchain

It depends, what are you looking for?? A project? A rider? A racer? or something that is restored? What size? and what part of the country are you in??

Robbie

I'm in Ohio, I will drive some tho.

I have a max of 1000 budget.  I'd eventually like to ride it and race it at the reunion rides and some ahrma stuff, then clean it up, put it next to my dad's 1997.5 LE's, all pretty between uses.

It has at least look OK, so I can continue to have my girlfriend convinced that I "need" this.

Or am I crazy to think I can get an old bike on a college students budget?

Robbie

Robbie, If there's a women in your life, that is going to stand between you and your Penton, maybe you ought to reconsider......
....the women, NOT the Penton.

I'm a poor college student, and we totally can't afford one, but I've been saving, and she knows how bad I want one.  I think she's pretty cool about it!

Little does she know that soon there may be as much old stuff as I have new stuff ;)

thrownchain

You should be able to locate something in that price range. Biggest thing is to be patient, but be ready when that bike comes along.

I won't even go into the girlfriend idea.[^]

G Ellis

Robbie  What size and year are you looking for? I live in East Central Illinois, Do you want a running bike that needs work? Or do you want one that you can work on? This makes a will set the price of the bike. I do come across bike both ways. Later Gary

VICTOR MONZ

Robbie.

I learned, the hard way, getting in a hurry, I made mistakes, hopefully learning lessons along the way.