Stolen bike info for police

Started by conrad2, March 14, 2010, 06:51:23 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

conrad2

Hey gang,
Many of you know I am a police officer and my jurisdiction includes an area north of Pittsburgh that includes our fabulous POG President Danik's stomping grounds. So not only do I have to fight crime I have to act as security for the President during many road trips!
I have traveled in POG ONE (F-150 Ford) many times and the food is not so great.
But seriously... today I just took a third report of a stolen "dirt" bike within the last two weeks. Plus Jake Fischer's Competition Cycles(which I also patrol) was burglarized recently. Luckily no bikes were taken
Paul Danik asked if I might convey to you what police need to report a stolen bike. The main thing we need is a VIN. We cannot even register a bike with the federal crime center w/o a VIN. But most officers have no idea what they are looking for when someone tells them their bike was stolen. So good digital pictures of both sides come in handy. We post the pictures on our area crime network so other departments can see them. Another very helpful thing to is to engrave, inscribe etc. the VIN somewhere hidden on the bike. I have done it under the gas tank,inside the rim of the wheel a few of my bikes even have a piece of tape inside the handle bars. This will allow us to to get a VIN when we recover a bike even if the stinkers file it off. Only you know where it will be.
Another issue we were tossing around was to have racers submit their VIN numbers on their race applications. It would not only let race officials determine if the bike is in the right class, but we may be able to run VINs from races through our computer.
Any thoughts Ted Landers?? One issue is privacy though.
Anyway hope this helps. If you have any questions or sugestions for me let me know.
Thanks
Conrad

Conrad Pfeifer
1972 Penton Six Days
Conrad Pfeifer
of Mars PA, Home of The Paul Danik Presidential Library

firstturn