New Guy Intro and Penton Racing Questions

Started by tonupchad, October 03, 2012, 10:08:40 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

tonupchad

Hello all,

I've been lurking for a while now mining the archives for racing tips and Penton basics. Name's Chad and I live in Durham, NC (transplanted from Zanesville, OH) I've been racing AHRMA for nearly 7 years now 4 on road and the last 3 in the dirt. You may have passed me before on one of my BSA 441's in the woods or VMX track.  

I've always had soft spot for Pentons ever since I was a kid seeing them out on the trails around Muskingum County. They're quite rare in Carolina so when I stumbled across one right down the street I thought it was destiny.  So now I'm the proud owner of this beauty below. From what I've read it's a 73 125.   Here's all the numbers:

Frame: 30362986
Engine: 7333265-97  TYP SACHS 1001/6B

It's fitted with a Mikuni carb and appears stock.

The plan is to race a full season of cross country and a little bit of VMX next year.  My first race on it will hopefully be next weekend at Barber.

Please be patient with me over the coming months as I know nothing about these bikes and even less about 2-strokes but I'm a good listener and a patient study.

From what's I've picked up in the archives I may be happier with a 35mm front end and improved rear suspension.  A set of alloy rims may nice too but not necessary. A set of bark busters too.  

Any other suggestions?

\\\'73 Six Day (CMF)
\\\'68 Six Day Wasselump

Randy Kirkbride

Hi Chad,
Welcome to the POG website. I'm from Zanesville, also. Small world, huh? Your bike is definately a 73. Very nice, but the Mikuni carb is not original. Should have came with a Bing carb. Again, welcome.

tonupchad

Thanks Randy!  I meant to say It has a Mikuni and [the rest] appears stock.

I'm back in Z-Vegas all the time.  Would love to get together and ride.
\\\'73 Six Day (CMF)
\\\'68 Six Day Wasselump

Randy Kirkbride