Gearing for MX

Started by [email protected], March 13, 2003, 12:37:40 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

[email protected]

I am in the process of setting up a Monark T-model (enduro) for the MX classic  125 class.There isn't, at least I can find, a Monark page.However I am looking for help on the Sachs 125B/6B motor which was used in Penton among others of the era,what I want to know specifically is what sprocket's Penton used on the MX models.I am relatively certain the gearing I have is too high for vintage MX.Also can anyone recommend a pipe?This thing has a ten pound can hanging  on the end of the chamber,which is heavy itself.I am not chasing a National championship just looking to have some fun,but still be somewhat competitive.Thanks Frank.Any feedback on racing this class as opposed to the real old man's class appreciated.I was an expert in the 70's and have continued flattrack,however I have gained 55 pounds and slowed down a bit.

SoCal996

I'm going with Doug Wilford's recommendation of 13 and 60, which allows a second gear start.

Brian

Larry Perkins

Gearing allowing a second gear start is not only the key to holeshotting on the Sachs motored bike but also lets you skip the spot where most of the miss shifts occur, between first and second.  I think these are all options-13:57-64 and 14:60-66.  The choice will depend on available gears on hand and track.  Mid Ohio has had some really long straights while Casey, IL has alot of twisty and up and down.  The same ratios can be accomplished basing off a 12 tooth front but it balls the chain up more increasing wear and also increasing the chance of a thrown chain and potential busted case.

[email protected]