Bottom end dead spot

Started by skiracer, September 09, 2009, 05:26:43 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

skiracer

I need some help.  My 76 250 MC5 has a HUGE dead spot on the very bottom end.  The bike starts okay, but when I give it some gas, it wants to stall out.  If I play with the trottle, it runs at mid to top end, and high top end.  I thought I might have dirt in the carb in one of the jets, so I took the carb (Mikuni 36mm) apart, cleaned everything, with the same results......  Any suggestions????
Thanks, James
1976 250 MC5 Original Owner
1976 Penton 175 XC
1977 250 GS6
@flyracingusa

Greg Settles

James:

I am new to all this but I have a 74 250 that was doing about the same thing. I found a crack in the case behind the mag. I also found a crack in the mag coils.

Greg

Ernie Phillips

Sounds like a lean condition as the carb transitions to the needle/needle jet circuit.  Try full rich on needle (clip in lowest groove).  If this helps but doesnt't give desired result, try richer needle/needle jet combo.  Could be air leak, could be flakey ignition, loose wire ...

Think back to when it last ran successfully.  Then retrace all your modifications/changes and reconfigure the rig to a known starting point.  If it ran good before, then it will run good again.

Ernie P.
Chattanooga, TN
Ernie P.
Chattanooga, TN

skiracer

Ernie, thanks for the input.  The last thing I did prior to cleaning the carb, was replacing the main seal on the mag side.  Maybe the seal is bad????  Or maybe I did something wrong with the instalation, though it is a simple process.  What do you think?
Thanks, James

Quotequote:Originally posted by Ernie Phillips

Sounds like a lean condition as the carb transitions to the needle/needle jet circuit.  Try full rich on needle (clip in lowest groove).  If this helps but doesnt't give desired result, try richer needle/needle jet combo.  Could be air leak, could be flakey ignition, loose wire ...