Penton fuel taps

Started by Tim McKinney, November 28, 2009, 12:50:47 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Tim McKinney

Hi Guys

I'm new to the Penton game so bear with me on some of the more minor questions. I just bought a nice 74 Harescrambler but the last owner let it sit quite a while with old fuel in the tank and the fuel taps are in need of cleaning out. They are the original square chrome type and have a dentent every quarter of a turn all the way around. What is a rule of thunb as far as off-on-reserve position on them before I remove them from the tank, it still has some old fuel in it?

Thanks
Tim

OLD BIKES RULE!!!
OLD BIKES RULE!!!

Lew Mayer

Pointing down is "on", naturally. Look on the sides of the square body and one should have an "R" for reserve and the other has a "C" for Off, I believe.

Lew Mayer
Lew Mayer

joe novak

May I suggest what other Penton owners recommend: gas with NO alcohol (ie. racing gas, aircraft, et.al.).   Some Penton owners claim that the alcohol softens the fiberglass resin in the gas tank.   joe

DKWRACER

Hi Tim, welcome to the POG, and congrats to your find.
 The petcocks should be removed for reasons stated, they do become clogged etc.. Al B. (thankfully) has rebuild kits that he spent an enormous time with his vendor to help with swelling, and are well worth the effort. Once you have them fixed, a simple test in the three positions should confirm operation. As a sidebar, I wrote about a simple fix in Tech Tips to mark the petcock levers with file marks visible when the levers are in the up position (off)...lest we have a possible flooded crankcase..............dummy me, has done that before.........

Enjoy your new Penton!

Tom Brosius
Mile High Pentons
Thomas Brosius

Britt Boyette

It's pump gas that's the problem. You can use race gas, av-gas, or gas bought from a marina. These are all alcohol free. I never store any gas in the tank as I always drain after use.

Britt Boyette
1976 125 MC5
Britt Boyette

77 Husky WR250