Pop Quiz:

Started by clayman, July 23, 2002, 10:50:16 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

clayman

Just for fun, can anybody (maybe all POGers) name 10 Sachs-powered motocross/trials motorcycles from the late '60s/early '70s??? As a free-lance journalist I am always pondering new story ideas and, the other day, made up a list of 11. One of them was a sleek looking full-sized Bonanza, as seen in the 1972 Buyer's Guide. I remembered how much I wanted one back then....!
Sincerely,
Clay Light
Penton enthusiast!

rob w

Hi Clay, how about, Bonanza, DKW, Dalesman, Hercules, Monark, PENTON, Saracen, Sachs, Rurp, Tyran, Wassell. That was fun, there must be more. Bob

Edited by - rob w on 07/23/2002  11:16:26 PM

Edited by - rob w on 07/23/2002  11:55:13 PM

clayman

Bob:
Right on! That's the same list I had compiled, with the exception of.....I can't remember!!!....oh, yes, a French/Canadian model, I believe, an Alouette??? Donny S. will probably know for sure!
Thanks,
Clay

desmond197

Here are some more from Italy, SWM, Mondial, Mazzilli and Antillotti, from the UK Sprite

There is a Alouette MX on Ebay

OUCWBOY

I think you guys just about named them all!
Good Work!
Donny
Donny Smith
Paragould, AR

Rocket

Don't forget Rupp
Rocket

Larry Perkins

My friends who buy parts in Italy collect a very obvious one that is missing from the list.  Some would say that Penton would cover this but in Europe, Australia for every bike that came here labeled Penton there were two to three that were sold as KTM even with the Sachs motor.  So in theory KTM should be there also.  The Canadian one was indeed the Alouette.  There is a pristine one in a collection just about thirty miles from us.  Anyone that went to the AHRMA Ridgedale Missouri Cross Country National probably saw it.

OUCWBOY

Rocket, I think Rob was trying to say  Rupp when he said Rurp. LOL.