Penton 400 Aftermarket Pipes

Started by imported_n/a, August 08, 2002, 09:42:21 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

imported_n/a

I've searched back on pipes for the 400, and AMS Racing and Jemco have been listed as possible sources.

Does anyone have a 400 pipe from Jemco or AMS?  If yes, how much was it and how was the fit and function?  

Thanks.  Glenn

Dave Withrow

Hi Glenn,
    I have been running the Jemco pipe on my '74 400 for 3 years now.  It matches right up to the frame.  Function is good also.  There have been several members over the last couple of years discussing the possibility of someone making a pipe but as of now I don't think anyone has.  Good luck.

Mike Lenz

I have been talking to a guy that fit a 76 400 mc-5 pipe to his 74 400. Says he didnt modify the pipe only the mounts. The mc-5 pipe made the 400's run much better than the 74 pipe. Will post here what I find out.

imported_n/a

imported_n/a

Mike, what's the difference in appearance between the MC-5 and Enduro pipes of the same year?

Glenn

Larry Perkins

More silencing so there is a cover tube over what would be the MC5 pipe.  I think it begins about the time the pipe gets under the #plate.  Right at the cone junction at that location on the MC5 pipe.  Mike Lenz would know better I think.

imported_n/a

Larry and Mike, was there any difference in the fore part of the pipe's design that changed the power between versions?

Glenn

Larry Perkins

I don't think so but again I think Mike probably knows more on this than me.  I was solidly an MC5 guy.  He might even have both pipes.  Mike?

Mike Lenz

In 76 the enduro version was basically the 75 old style frame bike with the same enduro exhaust as in 74 and 75. In 77 they made a totally new frame breather frame similer to the mc-5 frame with the pipe Larry decribed. The pipes were the same except for the rear ends on the 77 models.

tlanders