Penton piston design

Started by t20sl, August 31, 2016, 06:37:05 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

t20sl

Any engineers out there?  I have never heard why for instance Jackpiner Penton/KTM pistons had such a low mounted wrist pin hole  compared to almost any other manufacturer of the time.  Any ideas?

Ted

Jason Rowland

Hi, Ted - I put your Q to a fellow by the name of David Dunbar on a John Deere garden tractor site I frequent due to owning a mid-70's era worker with similar lack of parts and knowledge that Penton owners enjoy. David is pushing 90, and has forgotten more about engines than I'll ever know. High performance vintage 4-stroke multi-cylinder automotive engines are his specialty. Although it doesn't necessarily answer your question, here's what he has to say:

Jason, First, I'm no engineer, have no formal training or education. Piston pin location ( often called compression height) is not that comparative upon casual observation. When I design or alter engines, that dimension usually comes last in the plan. Much goes into a piston design. Rod center to center (c/c) length, crank stroke, deck height and skirt strength are varied for desired torque and/or HP RPM ranges. The pin position may likely have to do w/ port location, crown thickness heat dispersal & strength of pin bosses. Then there's alloy choice, combined w/ skirt cam (ovality), skirt taper, ring pack location passing over ports and ring type depending on usage. Just some thoughts. David

Toolsurfer

Wrist pin location has to do with acceptable rocking motion of pistion at the bottom of stroke. This position the most extreme angle between piston, crank throw and piston skirt versus cylinder wall. That's why you get wear taper in cylinders front and rear. Also cylinder and piston are never exactly round in design they are oval be it very minimal. Hope this helps some . Retired big three engineer.

Jason Rowland