pump gas and fiberglass tanks

Started by Mick Milakovic, September 30, 2002, 11:43:29 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Mick Milakovic

I've recently heard some scuttle about pump gas eating the inside of fiberglass tanks.  Anyone know anything about this?  I'm new to the restoration world and need some help.

Mick

mosesnra

dont know how it could do that most of these tanks have had gas run in them for 20+ years

dean    [email protected]
dean    [email protected]

scooterdude

I've heard the same thing. I do know that gas goes bad a lot quicker than it used to. Remember when you were a kid and you used the same gas, out of the same dirty can forever. It's all the chemicals nowadays. Seems like every time I turn around I'm cleaning a needle and seat. Gets gummed up and gets that pine smell.
Jeff

dirtbike

You are smoked. This is a huge problem with no known solution at this moment. Read the struggle this soldier had:
http://lightning.prohosting.com/%7Eraymacke/Cbnskif36.htm

It's bad !!
Ride your bike and dry out you tank.
//B Hahn
http://www.mxbikes.com

Gavin Housh

Stop buying that pump fuel and use race fuel. Shure these old bikes don't need the expensive stuff but they desirve it. With all the talk of eaten rubber crank seals and rubber stopper ends on enrichening parts in Bing carbs and smily face rubber gaskets in Penton petcocks why take the chance. My advice is to get yourself a steel "Jerry" can. Drain your gas out after evry ride and store it in the steel can. The plastic containers that are so popular now do not seal the volatile chemicals in gasoline from escaping. If you don't believe me just think back on all those faded plastic gas tanks you've seen. Shure some of that is caused from oxidation and some from uv radiation, but it's also from tiny molecules in the fuel passing through the plastic. Any reputable fuel supplier will tell you, store your fuel in a steel can or drum. Gavin Housh

Dwight Rudder