A few questions for the experts

Started by Chakka, March 24, 2004, 08:40:49 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Chakka

I am restoring a 1976 125GS. The bike has a KTM motor but does not have the GP frame the later models had. My question is will a pipe off a 1977 w/ a GP Frame 125 fit? They have the same manifold but I think there might be problems where the pipe snakes through the airbox. (I have a fiberglass airbox) not the later aluminum one. If not does anybody have the correct pipe that they are willing to sell?

Next, does anyone have a centerstand available for this bike or know where they mounted to on the ISDT bikes. If I had a clear picture of the mounting I could design and have some built, I am a draftsman by trade and have access to a fabricator.

Last question, is there anyone making replacement tank decals for this model? I have an enduro tank model with the "dog leg" type of decal on the tank.
Here is a link to some picture of the bike:
http://www.members.aol.com/repstd/
Thanks in advance
Chris  

tmc3c

Hey Chris, Are you sure you have a 125 ? It look's alot like my 1976 250 gs and as far as your parts list you might try the suppliers page here in POG.

Thomas Carmichael
Thomas Carmichael

1970 125 Six Day
1976 250 Hare Scrambler

john durrill

Chris,
Al B. has nos 125 pipes.
 you will need a 76 parts book to find out which carb came on the 125.
some came with bings and some came with lectrons. how many gears does the bike have ? 5 or 6? if its 5 you may have an MC5 mx model. if 6 then its probly a GS. Larry Perkins could help with the ID on which one you have better.
John D.

tomale