Air Box Intake

Started by imported_n/a, March 25, 2006, 10:07:50 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

imported_n/a

POG, question, I'm new to high breather frames. The way I see it there are 3 ways for air to get into the box - under tank, through filter, and small hole under the seat. Question is about the access under the seat, you  know, the silver dollar sized recessed area with a hole the size of a pencil that lines up with pencil sized hole in the airbox. On mine there's a void between the frame hole and the airbox hole of about 3/8". Should these 2 holes be connected by a small hose, tube, something to make best use of them? To me it appears they should or does it even matter? Thoughts? Thx,

chris h.
1974 six day

firstturn

Chris,
  The air comes in the vent holes under the fuel tank and flows down in the filter area that cleans the air before it goes into the plentum area of the airbox (big area on the intake side of the carburetor).  There is a hole on top of the air box the has a place for a bolt.  But there is also a hole that is covered up by a rubber cover. If this doesn't make sense email me and I will send you pictures.  I hope you Texas Penton is nearing completion.

Ron Carbaugh
Ron Carbaugh

rob w

Chris,  
I always place a 3/16" thick rubber washer there between the airbox and frame. You want to have a rubber washer between any contact point where the fiberglass can rub on the steel anyway.
I like the real rubbery rubber that will compress, not the hard cloth reinforced rubber washers.

Ya' know, air (and water), can both get into the the top of the box, because very few people still have and use the stock foam sealing gasket there between the frame and the top of the airbox. There are'nt too many left that make the effort to properly water seal (silicon) that area, making their High-breather's abit more of a lower-than-intended breather.

BobW

Chakka

Bob,