Frustrating Conversation in Nebraska

Started by cubfan1968, April 28, 2006, 05:16:10 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

cubfan1968

I'm a salesman, so I run into alot of folks in my travels. When the opportunity presents itself I try to bring the conversation around to dirt bikes. The conversation usually goes along pretty good until I'm aked my ride of choice. When I reply, a Penton, I usually get a blank stare. The reply is usually like they heard me wrong and they say "whats that a Penta?".  Then I need to explain what a Penton is. Now mind you these are 50ish type males who proclaim they were heavy into dirt bikes in the 70's.

Thats why this story does my heart good. The other day my wife, a nurse in one of the local hospitals, was taking care of a 50ish year old patient. Well the guy had a buddy visit and with my wife in the room the conversation came around to dirt bikes. My wife said that I was in to dirt bikes. When they asked what I rode she replied "a Penton". Hallelujah brother, they knew exactly what she was talking about. They wanted to know the year, model how it ran.

Why, may I ask you, does she get folks like that I get the guy who asks "Whats a Penta?"

Rod Whitman
1972 Six Day (Rider)
1972 Six Day (Project)
Rod Whitman
Omaha, Nebraska
1972 Six Day (Rider)
1972 Six Day (Project)

Big Mac

Even more painful is to answer the "wha's a Penton" question from the 20-something guy sitting on a KTM, with a KTM jersey on and KTM decals all over the back window of his truck. They should know better.