Help

Started by Kid Six Day, September 12, 2006, 10:22:20 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Kid Six Day

Hey all
  I have recently bought a 73 six day It's in pretty good shape good spark and compression and turns free. But looks like it's been sitting a while.
  I'm just getting into realy working on my penton and just went through the front forks and tripel clamps. I was wondering if on the tripel clamps should the berings be showing or is thier supposed to be some sort of seal over top of that?
  Also, I would like to know what else I should do to get my penton in running condition. I was planning on just cleaning everything up and checking/replacing all the parts. But then I heard I should replace the gaskets in the motor, too. I would like to stay away from rebuilding/tearing apart the entire engine if possible. But, we'll do if I have to.
  So I'd like to know All the stuff I should do to get my penton running and stay that way. If I have to do something needing special tools please tell me what the tools is and where I can get one.
  I want to do all the work myself because I bought this Penton to have fun with and it's no fun watching someone else do all the work.

'73 Penton Six Day 125
Alex Klein
Columbus,OH
\\\'73 Penton Six Day 125

Kid Six Day

Oh and I need a chain for it but I don't know that size of chain needed. Is their any way find out what size chain is needed or is it different on every model of bike.

'73 Penton Six Day 125
Alex Klein
Columbus,OH

thrownchain

Welcome to the club, I've got three 6 day bikes.
As to the motor, do a compression check, if it's got decent compression and holds oil I wouldn't worry to much about gaskets. If it developes a leak after you run it then go after the problem.
Also check wheel bearings and brakes, as for the chain, call Al. He's listed in the supplier listings.  Good luck.

TGTech

The steering head bearings are supposed to have an O-ring over them to keep dirt, mud and water out of the bearings.