Combs AR Warm Up Ride

Started by Ernie Phillips, March 07, 2007, 03:12:12 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Ernie Phillips

I'm New to Vintage Racing.  I was told that the Cross Country event in Combs AR Apr 21-22 is a IDST 'Warm-up' ride.  Does anyone have any details - a web site?

For those who have ridden this type event, how tought are they?  Miles?  I ask for 2 reasons:

1.  The rebuilding of my 1971 Penton is turning out better than expected.  I don't want to trash it.
2.  I haven't ridden competitively in 25+ years ...  I ride dual sport for fun.  Can a "average guy" finish without killing himself?

Ernie P.
Chattanooga, TN
Ernie P.
Chattanooga, TN

Dennis Jones

Hi Ernie,
An average guy can finish and have fun. The ride will probably be 35 to 45 miles each day and the trails will range from fast and easy to rocky and challenging.
There is no reason to trash your bike but it will show use, did I mention rocky? I would reccomend a better skid plate than the stock one on your 71, did I mention rocky?
I have attended this event since it started and it is well run and a lot of fun but it is still a real dirt bike race through the Ozark Mountains so expect to be challenged especialy on a steel tanker.

Dennis Jones
Dennis Jones

pakala

Ernie,
 Extra Heavy Tubes, Strong tires,check your spokes, cut your bars down has far as you can. Get a jar of Boudreaux's BUTT paste. At the end of the Two Days you will feel pain, But it's a good pain.
             Paul(socal)
 Ps. Come out early we go for a great trail ride(bring a modern bike if you like) with Rik Smits as trail master( had us lost most the day) and then a big ol chicken dinner in town at AG chicken house, yum!

Ernie Phillips

Dennis,

That is just the kind of info I was looking for.  Thanks

Paul,

Is the trail ride Friday?  Count me in.

(Ps) I'm the guy who just bought the Maico head & pipe from you.  Was thinking of riding the Maico at Combs but think the Penton to be a better choice.

Ernie P.