Road Race Report Round 2 (long)

Started by Dave H., May 27, 2003, 08:49:40 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Dave H.

This past Memorial day weekend, May 24-25, 2003, the Washington Motorcycle Road Racing Association held round 2 of it's racing program at Spokane Raceway Park, near Spokane Washington. The weather on Saturday was in the high 80's which scorched the asphalt and made the Avon race compound tires stick right from the git-go. I am new to this track, having only put my Penton racer on this track once before, which resulted in a sobering crash two years ago.   My plan on Saturday was to bed in  some new front brake shoes I bought from Michael Morse at vintagebrake.com, and I am very pleased with the results. While mine are Bridgestone 175 brakes, he can do stock Penton brakes too. I was pleased with my starts, and began to memorize the track layout. Saturday night a major squal and thunderstorm rolled in and it rained horizontally for the rest of the night, scattering some folks's canopies across the pits. The following morning, only a light drizzle was falling, and the race program began in earnest. I did a quick practice in the morning to try a new line through one of the trickier sections, and then waited for the first heat.