Gas/oil ratio & types.

Started by Lloyd Boland, May 01, 2004, 12:59:23 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Lloyd Boland

OK, I admit it, I'm no petroleum engineer.  Can someone explain to me the difference between oils, for mixing with gas, and why the large difference in ratios?  I thought the oil was to lubricate the bearings and to keep the piston from seizing.  If that is the case, the more the better, no?  Isn't that why the old bikes used 20:1 or 24:1, and then with the water cooled bikes and better cooling and tolerences, less oil was needed.  I'm really confused because I understand you may also get more horsepower if you use a higher ratio but no-one wants to fry a motor.  Any input from the engine building experts out there?

Rocket

My take on oils and ratios, more oil is not always better.  The reason I think this way is because oil burns hotter that gas, gas actually acts as a coolant.  I would say, run any good oil at 40 or 50 to 1, and jet bike accordingly and you will have no problems.  I also believe that you should jet your bike a little richer breaking in a new motor, not more oil mixture.
Now this will probably bring about some controversy, but I have used Pennzoil outboard motor oil in my bikes for over 20 years, never had a seizure, very clean burning, power valves stay clean and piston, ringlife and bearing life has been great.
Rocket

Lloyd Boland

I'm breaking in a band new motor tomorrow and it was previously jetted with 24:1 and ran well.  If my thinking is right, if I go to 40:1 it will actually be richer because more fuel to oxygen molecule.  Is this right?  Should I just break it in tomorrow with what I know works (24:1) and worry about changing to 40:1 later?  I would like everyone's input as I think a lot of people may benefit from this discussion.  It has always been a little confusing to me.

Lloyd Boland

Rocket, thanks.  That information does help.

OUCWBOY